Book Blast: Locked Together (In Chains, Book 2) by Michelle Abbott 10/3/2013

locked together

Locked Together

Series: In Chains – Book 2

Author: Michelle Abbott

Genres: Romance, Dystopian Romance

Release Date: September 30, 2013

Blurb:

This is book two in the In Chains series and continues the story of Kayden and Savannah. I would recommend reading book one first.

For Savannah, it was an easy choice; getting sent to the Compound meant she and Kayden could be together. But nothing is ever that simple. Caught in a system that encourages cruelty and mind games; will their love survive?
Please note: this book contains strong language.
add-to-goodreads-button
Excerpt:  
        I burst out laughing, I can’t stop. “This is so funny.” I’m laughing so hard I’m shaking. “They think they’re punishing me but I’m right where I want to be, I’m finally with you.”
I feel him shaking his head and feel his warm breath on my neck as he lets out a sigh. “Baby, you’re crazy but I’m glad you’re here where I can take care of you, I’ve missed you.”
I reach up and hold his face between my palms. “I’ve missed you too.”
He gives me a beaming smile. “I love you, I love you so much.”
“Can you love each other with a bit less noise,” comes a male voice from across the room, “I’m trying to sleep.”
For the first time I notice there are two other guys in the room. The one who spoke looks about Kayden’s age, the other much younger, just out of his teens; they’re both lying on the cement floor. I glance around the room. There are no bunks, mattresses, pillows or blankets. The room is empty. There are two bright fluorescent lights but no windows. “You guys don’t have beds?” I ask.
Kayden shakes his head. “No, but you can lie on me baby, I’m not as comfortable as a mattress but more comfortable than the floor.” He takes my hand and leads me over to a corner of the room, then he lies down on his back. I climb on top of him, my legs resting on his, my head on his chest.
“I’m not crushing you am I?” I know I’ve lost weight but having a body on top of him when he’s lying on a hard floor can’t be very pleasant.
“I’ve got your gorgeous body pressed against mine, there’s only one part of me that’s uncomfortable right now.” He grins at me and we both bust up laughing. The guy across the room yells at us to shut up, which makes us laugh even more. Kayden doesn’t know it but he’s way more comfortable than my lumpy mattress, he’s warm, he smells safe and familiar and his heartbeat soothes me. He wraps his arms around me and I fall asleep within minutes.
I wake with a start. It’s dark and it takes me a moment to remember where I am. My heart is racing; I can’t breathe and I want to get out of here, I’ve got to get out of here. I quickly climb off Kayden. “Baby, are you okay?” he asks. I stumble in the dark, trying to find the door. I run my hands along the wall until I feel steel under my palms. I form a fist and raise it to bang on the door. A hand closes around my wrist and someone moves in front of me, arms slide around my waist and I’m crushed against someone’s chest, Kayden’s chest. “It’s okay baby, it’s okay,” he says as he rests his cheek against mine. I relax into his chest, I can hear his heartbeat, he’s gently rocking me back and forth.
I close my eyes. “I think I went a bit stir crazy,” I tell him. He takes my hand and leads me back over to the other side of the room. We sit on the floor and I rest my head on his shoulder. My heart is still racing, the walls feel like they are closing in on me, there isn’t enough room.
“Let’s sing a song,” Kayden whispers in my ear. He starts singing the words to Skyscraper and as I focus on his voice my breathing begins to return to normal. “Sing with me,” Kayden says, “it’s dark, no one can see you.” I smile, I’m more worried about them hearing me than seeing me, but I sing along with him anyway. I’m expecting the other guys to complain about the noise, but they don’t. I guess they realise I was freaking out.
We finish singing; I reach for Kayden’s hand. “You’ve got an amazing voice, I could listen to you sing all day,” I tell him.
He puts his mouth to my ear and nibbles at my earlobe, then I feel his warm, wet tongue swirl around my ear, I shiver. “And you my baby,” he whispers and I lean in closer, “you sounded like a strangled cat.” He laughs into my ear and I jab him in the ribs, which makes him laugh harder.
Buy Links:
Click here for the book trailer!
About Michelle Abbott:
me+

I grew up in London in the United Kingdom.
I love reading all genres of romance and decided to try my hand at writing and self-publishing one of my own.
In April 2013 ‘In Chains’ was born. I enjoy writing romance with heroes who begin as the underdog and are protective of their girl.
I spend a lot of time at my computer, typing on a keyboard that has no letters on the keys because they’ve all worn off :-)
I enjoy travelling and seeing new places and occasionally I knit.

 
Connect With Michelle:
 
Tour Information:
lockedtogethertourbanner
 
Master Schedule:
October 3, 2013 Stops:
This entry was posted in Dystopian Tour Stop, October 2013 Book Tours, Romance Tour Stop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

